Re-Mapping My Thesis

A few days ago, I promised my supervisor M. N. that I am going to give him a re-mapped structure of my thesis.  Even if it is for for sake, such a re-mapping is really going to benefit myself.  

Having gone through another tornado blowing over the whole landscape of my thesis, and of course, its inseparable partner, my brain, a restructuring effort for the whole draft seems an urgent need.  
With a thesis of this nature, I can’t just do the exegetical and analytical work on my two texts: Yizhuan and Romans.  If Gadamer’s hermeneutics is what I am applying, it is legitimate and even more so demand for treating my cultural linguistic context and my personal background as texts.  P. Ricouer once writes an essay, “What is a Text?" For a fusion of horizons to happen, the concomitance of tradition and classics in one’s experience in life world and readings and experiencings of them as Gadamer has tried to explicate, to treat one’s cultural linguistic as seriously as one would a classic is a demand.  
What then shall I open up my whole argument? How shall I deploy every single point to prevent misreading of my readers out of their own preconception? What actually is my focus? How shall I rationale that I am not discussing and arguing issues that are conventionally treated in pastoral theology, virtue ethics, sinology, linguistic studies, biblical studies, when I am treating jushi局勢 and a pastor, or a pastor in jushi
The problems to be dealt with are jushi and the self of pastors.  The context is a dual traditional.  The methodology is back and forth hermeneutics between text and experience and historical situation.  My theoretical models or test models for dealing with my problems are Yizhuan and Romans, prognostic as well as remedial. 
What do you think?
相關文章:不惑的雙瞳神學
6 thoughts on “Re-Mapping My Thesis

  1. I think your idea is not yet clearly spelled out, and that the whole thing is too complex — involving intricate interrelationships of too many things, which make it / them hard to resolve. (Hard = nearly impossible in a single work = beyond the scope of a ‘normal’ doctoral thesis = approaching the ambition of a magnum opus.)
    Please try to ‘deconstruct’ the structure a bit, and lay down what is primary, and focus on it.
    Leave your magnum opus for the decades ahead :p
    (Sorry if I sound blunt, but I want to see your completed thesis rather than an ever-ongoing thesis-in-progress. Blessings.)

    按讚數

  2. One more point.
    I am still yet to see / understand how you deal with / discuss / analyse the concept of jushi. It appears to me to be something very abstract (虛). Maybe you have some concrete references to nail it down to earth which you have not mentioned. (No need to respond to this — your response will be beyond my ability to understand, anyway :p )

    按讚數

  3. aiya, dailo, don’t play me la.
    Not sure I can contribute in a real sense, cos your thesis is way beyond my capacity. I can only give feedback from a technical perspective but not in terms of content.

    按讚數

發表迴響

